LCJ Direction 05/17

PRACTICE DIRECTION

This **Practice Direction** is made the 20th November 2017 by the Presiding County Court Judge (Northern Ireland) and shall come into force on the 1st December 2017 and be known as **County Court 02/17**.

1. By the **Lord Chief Justice's Direction 5/16** issued on the 31st October 2016 the Lord Chief Justice set out directions for the distribution of court business in the county court in Northern Ireland.

2. Following the monitoring of the pilot scheme in relation to consolidation into a hearing centre at Armagh Courthouse of ordinary civil bills from within certain areas within the South Eastern and Western Administrative Court Divisions, Armagh shall be established as a permanent hearing centre for the listing of ordinary civil bill business.

3. To this end, and with the concurrence of the Lord Chief Justice, I have directed that all ordinary civil bill business shall continue to be issued in the administrative court division as is set out in paragraphs 19 and 20 and Annex 2 of the Direction 5/16, however the business which relates to the areas set out in Annex 1 to this Direction shall be listed for hearing at Armagh Courthouse.

4. For the removal doubt this Direction does not apply to any business to be listed before a District Judge, or any business which is not commenced by way of ordinary civil bill.

5. This Direction shall apply to all proceedings issued on or after 1st December 2017. Proceedings which would have fallen to be dealt with under this Direction had they not already been issued shall be transferred forthwith (by virtue of this Direction and without further order) to Armagh, unless the judge before whom they are currently listed considers that it is just and expedient for the case to be dealt with in its current court venue.

His Honour Judge McFarland Presiding County Court Judge (Northern Ireland)

ANNEX 1

All business commenced by ordinary civil bill where the defendant is resident, carries on business, being a body corporate has its registered office, or the cause of action wholly or partly arose, within the following areas -

- 1. The Local Government District of Armagh Banbridge and Craigavon.
- 2. In the Local Government District of Newry Mourne and Down in the District Electoral Areas of Slieve Gullion, Newry, Crotlieve and the Wards of Annalong, Binnian, Kilkeel and Lisnacree.
- 3. In the Local Government District of Mid Ulster in the District Electoral Areas of Cookstown, Torrent, Dungannon, Clogher Valley and the Wards of Lissan and The Loup.